Fall is in the air

Fall is in the air and I love this weather. I love the feeling of a brisk fall day and I feel that this morning. I embrace you FALL, (bring down this humidity and the puffiness of my hair).

September has been a really good month for me so far, compared to the previous ones. Lyme disease has taught me many things. Since my lyme diagnosis last year, it was all scary and new. Things I should and shouldn’t consume were hard to live with. Now I embrace this change, I have changed my diet for the better and feel better. I have incorporated a raw vegan diet, not 100% raw, but trying to eat more fruits and vegetables everyday. Drinking more green smoothies, eating big salads, eating natural and healthy foods.  I cut out dairy, sugar and eating gluten free and I have been feeling much better. If I eat too many greasy foods, I don’t feel well, my body has gotten used to eating healthy, so If I feed it crap, my body gets mad at me.

At this stage of my lyme disease, I am no LONGER afraid, like I was in the beginning. Symptoms now come and go, but they don’t fade me or knock me down. I am trying to ignore them and know that I am slowly getting better. When I get frustrated with this process, I look back at times when I couldn’t stand for long periods of time, or all I wanted to do was stay in bed, but now I embrace the times where I actually feel like cooking, cleaning and doing all the normal things I used to do. Even going to the supermarket and browsing the aisles, I feel a sense of accomplishment.   This is a long process and the saying I say over and over to myself is “Life is a journey, not a destination”.

I have also decided to go back to school and obtain my masters degree. I am a bit hesitant on how I will handle it, but I need to be distracted.  Lyme will always be part of my history but now I have to deal with what I have and just go for it. I always wanted to be a psychologist, but now things have changed. I am thinking of a masters degree in Health. Community Health, Health Policy, anything to do with health, even nutrition…we will see what I decide.

The more stamina I have, the more I want to do more. I want to spread the word on lyme disease and trying to start volunteering or advocating it as much as possible.

That’s it for now..It’s a beautiful saturday morning and I am off to enjoy the day.

4 thoughts on “Fall is in the air

  1. Lemons 'n Lyme

    So glad you are not afraid anymore! I still have days where I am, but it’s getting better. I’m also so proud you are going back to school for your masters, just remember to work on stress management to help keep symptoms down- you come first so take care of yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

