It’s a small world…

It’s a small world!

Yesterday we went to the airport to drop off a family member since he was heading back to Argentina. As I was walking to the AA Self Check in, I saw a very familiar face walk past me. I told my husband “I know him!, It can’t be!” and saw him go to another line in the airport. Since we were in a rush, we did the self check in but I kept telling my husband, “I need to see if it’s him!”. After we were done, I ran(YES RAN!) to where I saw him last and scouted the people in line. I shyly asked “Dr. Raxlen?”..Yep..it was him.  Anyone who has seen “Under Our Skin” the movie or with lyme disease knows who he is. He politely said “yes” and we stood there talking for a few brief minutes. I introduced myself to him, telling him that I was not a patient of his(uh duh) but all that I have been through. That I couldn’t stand before and now I can. I told him that I knew of a girl (but forgot her name at the moment-see Andrea’s blog here Lyme with purpose) who has a blog and was in a wheelchair and now under his treatment is better.  I told him my future plans for kids and he said that yes, during pregnancy it is better safe to be under low doses of antibiotics so that it will not pass to the baby(I knew that).  I told him thank you for all that you do. He told me to keep at it, keep fighting it.

I felt so happy. Happy that I shared my tiny story with him. Happy that there is really an end of the tunnel to all of this. Happy that for some reason I bumped into him. It’s a small world don’t you think.? What are the odds of me seeing him? Why did I bump into him? How small is the world?

When I think of the saying “It’s a small world” the Disney song pops into my head. I pulled up the lyrics today and even with it’s annoying repetitive chorus…I never noticed how really simple the lyrics are yet have the right meaning. I leave you with this song/lyric.

It’s a Small World-By Richard M. and Robert B. Sherman

It’s a world of laughter,
A world of tears.
It’s a world of hopes,
And a world of fears.
There’s so much that we share,
That it’s time we’re aware,
It’s a small world after all.

Chorus:
It’s a small world after all.
It’s a small world after all.
It’s a small world after all.
It’s a small, small world.

There is just one moon,
And one golden sun.
And a smile means,
Friendship to every one.
Though the mountains divide,
And the oceans are wide,
It’s a small world after all.

Chorus:
It’s a small world after all.
It’s a small world after all.
It’s a small world after all.
It’s a small, small world.

-R

9 thoughts on “It’s a small world…

  1. Kim

    Romina, I literally jumped out of my seat when I read this! Dr. R is my LLMD, and he is such an incredible man! What a great experience that you got to run into him. I always tell people that God could have and would have healed me with or without Dr. R, but He chose to use Dr. R in the process and I’m so grateful to God for that and Dr. R for his incredible kindness! He is a truly blessed and gifted man and has a big heart for those of us who have been through Lyme!

    Reply
    1. rominalifehappens Post author

      Hi Kim, yes, I wouldn’t ever think I would bump into him and I did..in all my places in an airport. Even though he is not my LLMD, I got to share my story with him and he knows my LLMD and took a few minutes just to look into my eyes and let me tell my tiny story of so many he hears about daily. Kim, I follow your blog and I love it. You will be back to yourself in no time. Please keep us updated on your apt!

      Reply
  2. judithatwood

    Hello, Romina! Welcome to the reader family of my blog, The Sun Drips Honey. I am very happy you have joined us. I only have one other reader who can give the rest of us perspective from the point of view of a person with Lyme’s — I hope you will feel comfortable joining in our conversations. Please stop by my Friends Page, and give us some info about you and your blog. Also, if you are a poet, or have any favorite poems, I have places for those as well. I’m glad you’ve come on board!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

