One Year Anniversary

A few days ago marked my 1-year anniversary of when my 4 months of symptoms last year of “anxiety, depression, stress, sickness, lethargy, fatigue, stiffness, etc” AKA lyme disease was finally diagnosed. I did not want to write this post because it reminds me of how long I have been dealing with lyme. Some days I try not to think about all the things it took from me at one point. However, it is my reality and I share this poem with you.

For this one year, I write this poem for you.

1 year of symptoms,

1 year of fear,

1 year of learning, patience & hope.

 

1 year of crying,

1 year of frustration,

1 year of living day by day,

1 year of ups and downs, & acceptance.

 

1 year of explaining,

1 year of expressing,

1 year of explaining over and over again & being an educator about lyme.

 

1 year of faith,

1 year of dreaming,

1 year of questioning, believing & trusting.

 

1 year of changing my habits,

1 year learning about myself, being myself, & stop being perfect.

1 year of eating healthier, cutting out sugar and stress.

 

1 year of family,

1 year of strength,

1 year of relying on others & asking for help when I need it.

 

1 year of struggle,

1 year of taking it easy,

1 year affecting my mind set.

 

1 year of changed goals,

1 year of seeing the lighter side of things, & laughing at myself.

1 year of knowing that after all of this, I will help others. The ones without a voice.

 

1 year of darkness,

1 year of my hair falling out and then having my baby hairs grow back in.

1 year of light & knowing that, the end to all of this is near.

 

1 year of growing,

1 year of yearning,

1 year of figuring out new things that help my body, mind and soul.

1 year, 1 year, 1 year, 1 year….

1 year from now, I will look back at all of this and say….

1 year… I am a survivor.

2 thoughts on “One Year Anniversary

  1. Kim Fernando

    Oh, Romina… so true. This is a beautiful poem. Boy, do I remember those years! You summed it up perfectly. Prayers for God’s love to surround you through your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

